Nayantara Sahgal


Nayantara Sahgal is the author of nine novels, a collection of short stories, six non-fiction works, and wide-ranging literary and political commentary. She has received the Sahitya Akademi Award, the Sinclair Prize, and the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize. She is a Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and has held Fellowships in the USA at the Bunting Institute, the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars, and the National Humanities Centre. She is a founder-member of the People’s Union for Civil Liberties and served as its Vice President during the 1980s. In 1990-91 she served as Chair (Eurasia) on the jury of the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize. In 1997 she was awarded an Honorary Doctorate of Letters by the University of Leeds. She has received the Distinguished Alumna Award from Wellesley College, Mass., USA and from Woodstock School, Mussoorie. In 2009 she received Zee TV’s Awadh Samman. She is a resident of Dehra Dun and has been awarded the Doon Ratna.